National Team

2019 Parapan American Roster Announced

Jen Allred on May 28, 2019

USA Wheelchair Rugby is pleased to nominate the 12 athletes that will represent the United States at the Parapan American Games August 23-September 1st in Lima, Peru. The wheelchair rugby competition, scheduled for August 23-27th, will result in a berth to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games for the nation that takes top honors.

Today’s selection announcement was made at the conclusion of a two day camp following the inaugural Four Nations Invitational in which the United States brought home the silver. “The 12 athletes that were chosen represent a strong mix of veterans and the future of USAWR, said Coach James Gumbert. This team’s grit and determination have exemplified what can be overcome when performance meets passion.” 

The United States is number two in the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation’s latest rankings posted on May 27, 2019. For more information or for athlete interviews, please contact Jen Allred at

2019 USA Wheelchair Rugby Parapan American Games Team
Chuck Aoki 3.0
Jeff Butler 0.5
Chad Cohn 1.0
Ernie Chun 2.0
Jake Daily 2.5
Joe Delagrave 2.0
Lee Fredette 1.0
Ray Hennagir 3.5
Eric Newby 2.0
Alejandro Pabon 2.5
Adam Scaturro 1.5
Josh Wheeler 2.5

Clayton Braun 0.5
Kevin Hamilton 3.0
Joe Jackson 1.0
Chuck Melton 2.0

Head Coach: James Gumbert
Assistant Coach: Sue Tucker