National Team

Australia crowned champions of the world for the first time

Aoki, Delagrave named to all-star team

USA Wheelchair Rugby on August 11, 2014

Originally published by Af Beau Greenway for Click here to read the full story.

Earlier in the day the USA bounced back from their difficult semifinal loss to secure the bronze medal over Japan 62-56.

USA captain Andy Cohn admitted the team was still a work in progress but were glad they could at least come away with a medal.

– We have got a lot to learn, there was a lot of really good teams here and we have a lot we can take away from this.

– I was really proud of the guys showing a lot of heart and a lot of effort in coming back and getting a medal out of this.

This event couldn’t be made possible without the hard work of a lot of people behind the scenes which was recognised by IWRF President John Bishop.

– I think the event was a huge success, they had great crowds, the teams had everything that needed as far as support went, and it was a very relaxed atmosphere for most of the athletes which always lead to a better performance on the court.

– The media promotion of the event was amazing through Facebook and Twitter, the webcast itself was incredible and obviously the fans here in Denmark appreciate the sport because they certainly came out and supported their team as well as several other teams.

– The organizing committee was spot on, anytime there was a glitch, they got to it right away and seemed to clear up any issues. With an event this size there is always something that pops up but the confidence of this crew was incredible in rectifying anything almost instantly.

– Unfortunately I am leaving tomorrow but I would definitely come back and I think all the countries that competed here would too.

The final event standings were as follows:

1. Australia

2. Canada

3. USA

4. Japan

5. Great Britain

6. Denmark

7. Sweden

8. New Zealand

9. France

10. Finland

11. Germany

12. Belgium

In a World Championship first, Great Britain’s Ajaz Bhuta won the fans MVP award for the most popular player of the week.

Here is a list of the best players in each classification:

0.5: Nazim Erdem (Australia)

1.0: Trevor Hirschfield (Canada)

1.5: Thomas Schuwje (Germany)

2.0: Joe Delagrave (USA)

2.5: Ian Chan (Canada)

3.0: Chuck Aoki (USA)

3.5: Zak Madell (Canada)

MVP: Zak Madell (Canada)