National Team

USAWR Names 2020 Paralympic Training Squad

USA Wheelchair Rugby on December 13, 2019

USA Wheelchair Rugby is pleased to announce its Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Training Squad following a four-day selection camp at Lakeshore Foundation U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Training Site in Birmingham, AL. Thirty-seven athletes participated in a team selection camp in order to nominate up to 16 athletes who will train together for a spot on the 2020 Paralympic Games Team to be named in May.

The following athletes were selected for the 2020 Tokyo Training Squad:

  • Chuck Aoki
  • Jeff Butler
  • Ernie Chun
  • Chad Cohn
  • Jake Daily
  • Joe Delagrave
  • Liz Dunn
  • Lee Fredette
  • Ray Hennagir
  • Montrerius Hucherson
  • Joe Jackson
  • Chuck Melton
  • Eric Newby
  • Kory Puderbaugh
  • Adam Scaturro
  • Josh Wheeler

USA Wheelchair Rugby Head Coach James Gumbert says, “This was the hardest selection I have been part of during my tenure as coach. We’ve added so many incredible elements to this team, their heart and passion is unmatched. The next nine months for us are going to be a magical journey.”

In August, the team locked down its spot at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games with a win over Canada for the gold medal at the Parapan American Games in Lima, Peru. Then in October, they added World Wheelchair Rugby Challenge champions to their list of 2019 accomplishments by beating Australia. Looking ahead, the Tokyo Paralympic Games take place August 25-September 6, 2020 with the wheelchair rugby competition running August 26-30. The team will also compete this season at Quad Nations in Leicester City in February, the Tokyo Test Event in March, and finally Canada Cup in Vancouver in June.